As a single woman living alone, much like Liz Lemon, my greatest fear is choking alone in my apartment. Second to that is setting my apartment on fire via deep frying. I mean, have you seen how many people set their houses on fire each year trying to deep fry turkeys?

So I generally try to stay away from frying things in general because, you know, it’s slightly scary and some people say too much fried food isn’t good for you.

But, it was brought to my attention that when I did my ode to the state fair that I left out the major food good of state fair goers world wide: Fried. So in honor of all things deep fried and on a stick I suspended my fear.

Plus it’s always my aim to find a new way to make something that should be healthy extremely bad for you. What’s the fun in deep frying a snickers bar? You already know that it’s bad for you, but when you deep fry vegetables you can sometimes trick yourself into thinking that you’re doing your body good.

Eggplant Fries, recipe from The Hungry Moose

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsps garlic powder
  • 2 tsp fresh oregano, minced
  • 1 tsp fresh parsley, minced
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • oil for frying
  • 2-3 small eggplants
  • salt for seasoning
  • honey (fo’ drizzlin’)

Sift together flour, garlic powder, oregano, parsley, paprika, salt, and pepper.

In your frying apparatus, heat oil to 350 degrees (you can use an oil/candy making thermometer, or you can do the wooden spoon test: did the handle end of a wood spoon in the oil once preheated, if bubbles form immediately around the handle it’s hot enough).

Peel eggplant and cut them into 1/2in-3/4 in fries. Toss the fries in the seasoned flour to coat well. When oil is ready drop a few fries at a time into the oil and cook until golden brown (you’ll have to turn em over once). Remove the fries from the oil and let drain on a cooling rack or paper towels. Repeat until all the fries are cooked.

Sprinkle with salt and drizzle with honey or eat with ketcup, aioli or your dipping sauce of choice.

-Patrice

